Screen Reader Access
Home » About»

About the Department

The University Department of Mathematics was established in August 1960 at Maharaja's College after the amalgamation of its Post-graduate wing. The Department got its permanent abode at the second floor of the Vigyan Bhawan in the University Campus in 1964. Various National and International honours have been conferred upon some faculty members of the Department.The M.Sc., M.Phil. and Pre-Ph. D. course work classes are held in the main campus and the under-graduate teaching takes place in the three constituent Colleges of the University. A good number of students of the Mathematics Department have made a mark in different walks of life e.g. Research, Teaching, Civil Services, Defence, MNC's, etc. The Department provides learning friendly environment enabling students to meet global requirement. Prof. P.D. Verma Memorial Lecture Series, initiated in 1997, has been widely acclaimed activity in which eminent scholars of Mathematics are invited to deliver memorial lecture.

Infrastructural Facilities

The Department has four classrooms with one of them having ICT facility. The Department has its own Library with quality reference books, two Computer Labs having robust MATLAB, MAPLE, MATHEMATICA software and high speed internet support. The Department has received UGC DRS-II under SAP, DST sponsored FIST Programme and NBHM grant for purchaseofbooks in theDepartmental Library.The Department has active programmes of research in a number of different areas in Mathematics. Emphasis is laid equally on Pure and Applied Mathematics. The following are the thrust areas of research .

Ph.D. Programme :

Thrust Areas

  • Fluid Dynamics (Porous Medium, Heat Transfer, Non-Newtonian Fluids, MHD, Boundary Layer Theory)
  • Bio-Fluid Dynamics
  • Operations Research
  • Integral Transforms and Special Functions
  • Fractional Calculus
  • Geometric Function Theory
  • General Relativity and Cosmology
  • Numerical Methods
  • Graph Theory